"The Carroll County Bureau of Aging & Disabilities is dedicated to providing the highest quality of services, programs and assistance to promote choice, dignity and independence for older adults, adults with disabilities and those who care for them."

The Bureau of Aging and Disabilities is a division of the Carroll County Department of Citizen Services and is the principal agency that plans, advocates, and develops programs and services for older adults, age 60 and over; and coordinates services and referrals for adults with disabilities 18 years and older.

The Bureau of Aging and Disabilities operates five senior and community centers in Carroll County. Each center is a community focal point where older adults can receive services and participate in social, recreational, educational, fitness, health, nutritional, and informational activities. The centers are located in Westminster, Taneytown, Mt. Airy, Hampstead, and Eldersburg.

The Center for the Study of Aging at McDaniel College, on behalf of the Carroll County Commission on Aging & Disabilities, is surveying residents of Carroll County, Maryland age 60+ to identify the resources needed to help them to age in place for as long as possible. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention define aging in place as "the ability to live in one's own home and community safely, independently, and comfortably, regardless of age, income, or ability level." The survey is divided into three parts: demographics, current health and functional status, and services that may be of interest. The anonymous survey will take approximately 15 minutes to complete. The responses will be used to develop a comprehensive Aging in Place needs assessment report for Carroll County. The survey can be accessed:

Any questions regarding the survey can be directed to Bob Coen, member of the Carroll County Commission on Aging & Disabilities at (410) 848-1095 or Dr. Diane Martin, Director of the Center for the Study of Aging at McDaniel College at (410) 386-4618.   |   Comments to Webmaster
Carroll County