Seal of Caroll County, Maryland

Planning & Zoning Commission

Contact Information:
TT users (MD Relay):

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Land Use Article (formerly Article 66B Zoning and Planning) of the Annotated Code of Maryland delegates planning and zoning regulatory powers to several counties and municipalities. Among several of the delegated powers is the authority to create a planning commission to prepare comprehensive plans, zoning ordinances, and subdivision regulations and to guide development within this framework.

The seven-member Carroll County Planning and Zoning Commission was formed on August 10, 1959. Members serve without pay, and receive a $90 per diem allowance. All are citizens of Carroll County. The Commission members as of November 2013 were as follows:

Expiration of Term
Alec Yeo, Chairman

Richard J. Soisson, Vice Chairman

Jeffrey A. Wothers

Matthew S. Helminiak

Eugene A. Canale

Cynthia L. Cheatwood

Daniel E. Hoff, alternate

Richard S. Rothschild, ex-officio

March 2018

October 2015

April 2018

October 2018

January 2017

October 2019

October 2015

Philip R. Hager, Director of Land Use, Planning, and Development, serves as the Secretary to the Commission. The Commission follows an adopted set of Administrative Rules during its meetings.

The Commission meets for a regular monthly meeting on the third Tuesday of every month in the Reagan Room (Room 003) of the County Office Building. Commission meetings are open to the public, except as provided by law. Members also attend numerous other meetings throughout the year, including scheduled hearings and special work sessions, in conjunction with their duties as Commission members. An agenda is posted approximately 10 days in advance of the meetings, indicating the items scheduled for each meeting. Minutes of previous meetings are available for review.

  Links to Other Documents Corner